Downtown 1958

Downtown 1958

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Marquette Honor

April 15, 1970, Neenah-Menasha Daily Northwestern
Although the Apollo astronauts were the first recipients of this medal as daring explorers, over the course of time, the honor has been given quite sparingly and mostly to those deserving of it in honor of their human rights work.  Among the four additional recipients since 1969 were Mother Teresa, the Reverend Desmond Tutu, and the Little Rock Nine, who challenged segregation in public schools by enrolling at the all-white Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas in 1957.

No comments:

Post a Comment